page header
Home About NCDOL Contact Us Calendar Publications Statistics What's New Site Map Search our Site


Wage & Hour

FAQs
Fact Sheets
blue arrow File Disclosure Requests
 Forms
Presentations
Statutes & Administrative     Rules

 Youth Work Permit


Bureau Contact

Christine Ryan
1-800-NC-LABOR
or 919-807-2796

Wage Complaints
The N.C. Department of Labor does not take wage payment complaints of $50 or less. If your wage complaint deals with last
paycheck, you must
wait 10 days after the
payday in order to file
a complaint with this
office.


Standards & Inspections

Boiler Safety
Elevator & Amusement Device
Employment Discrimination
Mine & Quarry
Wage & Hour


Wage and Hour Seminars

The state Wage and Hour Bureau, the Community College System's Small Business Center Network, and various business associations are hosting joint state and federal wage and hour seminars throughout North Carolina with the assistance of the federal Wage and Hour Division. We want to invite anyone interested in learning more about state and federal labor laws to attend. Please see the Calendar of Events for dates and locations.

This year we will be emphasizing the new federal overtime exemption rules. Some of the other topics will include state and federal labor law coverage, employer-employee relationship, minimum wage (including tipped employees), time and one-half overtime pay, promised wages and wage benefits, child labor/youth employment (including hazardous/detrimental/prohibited occupations and work permits), hours worked, and various other employment laws. Please see the Agenda for details.

The seminars will be conducted by both state and federal wage and hour officials. The officials will be available to answer questions and concerns. Each participant will be given a wage and hour notebook, which we hope will be a valuable resource for future questions and reference.

Registration for the seminars is required. To ensure that you get a notebook, you must register at least 14 calendar days before the appropriate seminar. If paying by check or money order, participants are to print the completed registration form and mail it to the Wage and Hour Bureau along with a check or money order for $50.00 (made payable to the "North Carolina Department of Labor"). If paying by credit card (Visa and MasterCard only), participants are to print the completed registration form, including credit card information and signature, and either mail or fax the form to the Wage and Hour Bureau. Registration forms and payment by check or money order will be accepted on the day of the seminar, but the notebook may have to be mailed at a later date depending on availability. The $50.00 registration fee is per participant and includes the notebook, two breaks and lunch.

If you have any questions or need more details, please call the Wage and Hour Bureau at (919) 807-2796 (Raleigh) or toll-free (NC only) 1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267).

Revised 6-9-2004
Agenda Calendar of Events
Registration Form

Seminar Brochure
  

Seminar Co-Sponsor Requirements  

 

 

 

 

 

 

bottom of page line

Home | Contact Us | Calendar | Publications | Statistics | About Us | Links | What's New | Site Map | Search
Disclaimer | Mission Statement

1101 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 •  919-807-2796 or 800-NCLABOR